We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

The Meltdown

by Gray Home Music

supported by
John Parrett
John Parrett thumbnail
John Parrett I love discovering new bands - especially ones under the radar. On the 10 years of Gray Home Music download (free) there is a great radio interview with some background. I love bands that love making music cos they love making music - simple as that! Favorite track: Middle School Slam Dance Champion.
  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.
    Purchasable with gift card

      name your price

    You own this


Tall Pines 00:52
The Meltdown 04:01


The 9th release of the band Gray Home Music, The Meltdown was recorded over a 5 year period. Songs like Middle School Slam Dance Champion and The Meltdown were written in 2006 and performed by the "super group" Buffalo Meltdown on our summer tour. Then Lucy and I recorded Drifting Outdated Electronics for the "RPM Record an Album in a Month Challenge." I put this collection of songs on the back burner.

Then we moved, got married and had kids. All the while, I have been working on this group of songs in little bits. For five years, I completed the RPM challenge with new songs, but hadn't been able to finish up the final touches of The Meltdown. Then once the songs were finished, I wasn't sure what to do about covers and packaging. I wanted to make a video and I wanted to have the covers be individual frames from the video. I finally figured out how to make a video that incorporates the hand-drawn covers and also makes use of all the video footage we shot while on tour. These songs are all inspired by that Summer 2006 Buffalo Meltdown tour.

One of the things I like about this record is that since it was recorded over such a long period of time, it features a lot of great folks: graham wood, billy stines, jason henn, lucy beirne, matt retzer, josh hunter, will ryerson, andrew myers, erin beirne, gavin beirne, lillian harris, mandy sabine, adam schutzman, charlie biando, avalon zimmerman & jimmy hughes.

Some songs recorded all together like Middle School Slam Dance Champion, some tracks emailed back and forth, and one chorus of The Meltdown recorded at a Folklore practice into a hand held recorder with a acapella style pitch pipe starting note.


released January 24, 2012

ENO 019


all rights reserved



Third Uncle Records Indianapolis, Indiana

Prohibitively DIY

contact / help

Contact Third Uncle Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account